24/7 hrs Support : / +977 - 9851031532, 9751031532

Mountain Expedition (Mountaineering in Nepal)

Mountain Expedition in Nepal is the most demanding yet very exciting and challenging adventurous activity.

Nepal is home to 8 out of the 14 highest peaks in the world and thousands of mountaineers visit Nepal to realize their dream of standing on the summit of Himalayas. The world’s highest mountain Mt. Everest (8,848m), the third highest Kanchenjunga (8,586m), the fourth Mt. Lhotse (8,516m), the fifth Mt. Makalu (8,463m), the sixth Cho Oyu (8,201m), the seventh Mt. Dhaulagiri (8,167m), the eighth Manaslu (8,163m) and and the tenth Mt. Annapurna (8,091 m) are all in Nepal!

There are 1310 identified Himalayan peaks in Nepal, and over 3000 peaks over 6000 meters, many of which have still not been opened for climbing. There are two types of mountains opened for climbing. One group of mountains include those smaller peaks over 6000 to 7000 m which are comparatively easy to climb and has been categorized as ‘trekking peaks’. The second and the most prized group of mountains include peaks over 7000m which are technically, physically and mentally very hard to climb and require extensive experience on the part of mountaineers. 

Every year thousands of trekkers and mountaineers come to Nepal to climb both the trekking peaks and highest mountains such as the Mt. Everest. Permits are required for climbing these peaks. At present there are over 300 trekking peaks which are operated by Nepal Mountaineering Association, a government recognized body for issuing permits. However for peaks over 7000m government itself regulates the issuance of permits. Nepal Environment Treks & Expedition operates mountaineering expeditions with its experienced climbers and mountain guides. Our mountain guides and Sherpas have years of experience in operating successful expeditions. Depending on your interest and your level of physical and mental fitness as well as technical skills, we can offer you varied choices and options. Contact us or meet us directly or talk to our guides for additional information. 

Royalty for Foreign Climber per Person in US Dollar:

 Royalty for Foreign Climber per Person in US Dollar
 Mountain  Spring  Autumn  Winter/Summer
 Everest Normal Route  11000  5500  2750
 Everest Other Route  11000  5500  2500
 Other Mountains      
 more than 8000 m.  1800  900  450
 7501m. - 7999 m.  600  300  150
 7000 m. - 7500 m.  500  250  125
 6501 m. - 6999 m.  400  200  100
 Mt. Amadablam (6812m.)  400  4000  200 
 Less than 6500 m.  250  125  70

  The provision of Royalty for foreign climbers will come into effect from 1 January 2015 (B.S. 20171/09/17)

Royalty for Nepalese Climber per Person in Nepalese Rupees:

 Royalty for Nepalese Climber per Person in Nepalese Rupees
 Mountain  Spring  Autumn  Winter/Summer
 Everest Normal Route  75000  37500  18250
 Everest Other Route  60000  30000  15000
 Other Mountains      
 more than 8000 m.  10000  5000  2500
 7501m. - 7999 m.  8000  4000  2000
 7000 m. - 7500 m.  6000  3000  1500
 6501 m. - 6999 m.  500  2500  1250
 Mt. Amadablam (6812m.)  8000  8000  4000 
 Less than 6500 m.  4000  2000  1000

Royalty for Nepalese climbers will come into effect from 13 February 2014 (B.S. 20170/11/01).

Royalty for the mountains situated on Mid Western and Far Western Development Region:

3. The Mountaineering Royalty has been totally waived to the mountains situated on Mid Western and Far Western Development Region of Nepal for 5 years effecting from 2070/04/01-2075/03/32 (16 July 2013 to 15 July 2018).

Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation of Nepal has expected that the timely amendment in Royalty for mountaineering in Nepal will be the milestone for the promotion of Nepalese Mountaineering Sector around the World.

Mount Everest Expedition

At 8848m, Mt. Everest stands tall as the world’s highest mountain. The mountain peak known by the Tibetan name Chomolangma (Goddess mother of the snow), and Nepali name Sagarmatha (mother of the universe) straddles the border between Nepal and Tibet (China).

Mount Manaslu Expedition

Manaslu was first climbed in 1956 by a Japanese expedition team led by Toshio Imanishi and Gyalzen Norbu Sherpa. Manaslu is a name derived from the Sanskrit dialect, which means "Mountain of the Spirit". The local name for Manaslu is called Kutang.

Ama Dablam Expedition

Ama Dablam is probably one of the most beautiful and mesmerizing mountains in the Himalayas. Ama Dablam in local Sherpa language means ‘Mother’s Necklace’. Its sheer face, a bulge of snow and glacier, jettisons upward like a pearl in the sky

Ama Dablam Expedition with Island Peak Climb

The normal route to climb Ama Dablam is from its South- West ridge. Ama Dablam is a small snow-capped peak lying in the Everest region. This South – West ridge is the normal and most popular route in order to ascend Mt. Ama Dablam.

Annapurna Expedition

Annapurna Massif, which extends about 55 km in length is a collection of over 30 mountain peaks. Prominent peaks among them include Annapurna I, II, III, IV and Gangapurna. The highest among them and the most popular is Annapurna I which is 8091m tall, recognized as the tenth highest mountain in the world

Kanchenjunga (8586m) Expedition

Kanchenjunga at an elevation of 8586m is the third-tallest mountain in the world after Mt. Everest and Mt. K2. Kanchenjunga is a word of Sikkimese origin. Himalayan people particularly of Darjeeling, Taplejung and Sikkim highly revere the peak as a sacred mountain.

Baruntse Expedition

Baruntse (7129m) lies in the Khumbu region surrounded by three big glaciers: Hunku, Barun and Imja Glaciers. It is one of the most popular expedition peaks for seasoned climbers. Bartunste falls within the territory of Makalu Barun National Park, one of the least visited and explored national parks in Nepal.

Mount Dhaulagiri Expedition

Mt. Dhaulagiri at 8167m is the world’s seventh highest peak in the world. Dhaulagiri is a cluster of peaks which prominently include Dhaulagiri I, II, III, IV and V. Owing to its distinctive white mass of snow the peak is also referred to as the ‘white mountain’.

Thapa Peak or Dhampus Peak Climbing

Dhampus Peak (6012m) is a trekking peak located in Kaski district of north-central Nepal. The peak lies in the famous Annapurna trekking circuit and is clearly visible from Dhampus Village.

Cho Oyu Expedition

Cho Oyu is the sixth highest mountain in the world with an altitude at 8,201 meters (26,906 ft) above sea level. The Tibetan meaning of ‘Cho Oyu’ is the Goddess of Turquoise. The mountain is part of the Mahalangur section of the Himalayas, which also consist of Mount Everest.

Makalu Expedition

Makalu is 8485m tall, which makes it the fifth highest mountain in the world. Located in the Mahalangur Himalayan ranges, the same range to which Mt. Everest belong, Makalu has two sister summits, Makalu II (7678m) and Chomo Lonzo (7804m).

Lhotse Expedition

Lhotse at an astounding 8516m is the fourth highest mountain in the world. The mountain lies in Everest region of Nepal along Nepal-China border and is part of the Mahalangur range of Himalayas. Lhotse in Tibetan language means the ‘South Peak’ as it is the southern extension of Mt. Everest. Lhotse has two subsidiary peaks, namely Lhotse Shar (8383m)and Lhotse Middle (8414m).

Mount Himlung Expedition

Mt. Himlung  (7126m) is listed one of the difficult seven-thousanders for mountaineers. It is located along Nepal-Tibet/China border in the Manaslu region. The area itself is a culturally and naturally protected area and is considered remote by all standards. Therefore special permits will be required by the climbers for approaching the mountain for climbing.